MVRDV - MVRDV among 5 teams selected to develop Singapore Rail Corridor concept Masterplan

MVRDV among 5 teams selected to develop Singapore Rail Corridor concept Masterplan


"The quality, diversity and creativity of the participating teams and their proposals are very impressive,” said URA chief executive Ng Lang, who is chairperson for the evaluation panel.

A total of 64 teams had responded to the Government's call for ideas on revamping the Rail Corridor, including two special interest areas in Choa Chu Kang and the former Tanjong Pagar Railway Station. The RFP was launched on Mar 18, inviting design professionals to develop a concept master plan and concept proposals to revamp the Rail Corridor. A total 64 teams submitted proposals. The five teams selected for the second stage were chosen by an evaluation panel, and as much of the Rail Corridor experience will be defined by its greenery, they paid particular attention to the teams’ architectural capabilities, specifically in landscapes.

Principal architect Raymond Woo: “The response to the RFP is impressive. The selected teams were thorough in their design approach. They have different emphases yet were able to demonstrate a common intention, which is to provide a longitudinal green lung through the centre of Singapore." In Stage 2 of the RFP exercise, the team chosen for its concept master plan will carry out a preliminary design and feasibility study for a 4km-long signature stretch of the Rail Corridor, spanning the former Bukit Timah Railway Station to the Hillview area. Members of the public will be able to see a showcase of submissions by all participating teams at an exhibition from October to November, and they will be invited to give feedback on the proposals.

The five teamrs are:

  • Grant Associates (Singapore/UK), MVRDV (Netherlands) and Architects 61 (Singapore)
  • West 8 (Netherlands) and DP Architects (Singapore)
  • Turenscape International (China) and MKPL Architects (Singapore)
  • Nikken Sekkei (Japan) and Tierra Design (Singapore)
  • Olin Partnership (US), OMA Asia (Hong Kong) and DP Architects (Singapore)